Decision made on oil for 2007 Pilot.

Status
Not open for further replies.
After a month of usage in Ghana i have decided on the oil i will use.

There may be flaming!

On picking the car up, 124088 miles, OLM was showing 60%.

Oil level was in the Min mark.

Oil filter was a new looking OE Honda.

No chance of finding 5w20, couldn't even find 5w30.

Managed to find Shell Extra 5w40 Full Synth at a Shell Filling Station (vehicle will only be fueled with Shell petrol).

Added the lot and it now sat spot in the Max level.

Oil was fairly clean when checked.

A month of usage, mileage on last day was 1252xx miles and OLM was showing 30%

I have no experience with how US market OLMs work but i assume dropping 30% in around 1000miles makes the algorithm consider my usage quite harsh?

Any opinion in regards that would be gratefully accepted.

Oil is now sitting half way between Max and Min, so usage of around 1/2 litre in 1000 hard miles, loads of idling in heavy traffic, a fair bit of fine dust in the air, high humidity (up to 95%) and high temps (90oF to 100oF)

The VCM cuts in fairly smoothly. Fuel consumption on a tank varied from under 10mpg around Accra to 18mpg when used on longer runs with less traffic.

And so to the somewhat controversial part.

As i can't say I noticed any difference in economy, performance or engine noise between the oil it had initially (i assume 5w20 as it was last serviced in Texas) and after having a litre of 5w40 added, i have decided to use 5w40 Fully Synthetic.

Oil filter will be either OE Honda or a K&N.

Will be back over in September so oil and filter will be changed then.

I might try and do UOA.

Also to be done are an ATF drain and fill (gets rid of 4 quarts apparently) i am thinking about using Maxlife ATF instead lf Honda DW1.