Dealer ruined my transmission!!!!

Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
98
Location
Oman
My 2018 GC was working fine with no issues. The only thing that I hated about it is that sometimes (Rarely) gears 1,2,3 shift roughly at low speeds and this happens from time to time. after almost two years of using it, I have decided to take it to the dealer to fix this issue because I heard that there is an update for the transmission that makes it shift better, and while it's an update I thought nothing to lose. Now after my car sat there for a week, I came to take it home and while I was driving I noticed that new gears rough shifting and the car drivers weird (felt heavier). I parked and while using reverse gear and drive I noticed a huge bump (Jerking) when I select the gear (didn't have this before), and I started to worry, I took back to them and told them about this issue hope they reverse whatever they did or fix this annoying issue. My car was fine and everything was smooth, but only the rarely rough shifting that happens from time to time, but now it is so annoying and feels wrong.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Location
Great Lakes
There is a learning procedure the techs must do from my understanding or it will act weird. Even doing that, it still needs to be driven to relearn your particular patterns.
 

Nick1994

$100 site donor 2022
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
15,346
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Yeah it needs time to learn. My Genesis had some rough downshifting a few months ago. I had the dealer reset the computer for it and it took some learning to start to smooth out. Then I had the transmission fluid changed and it's perfect now.
 

John344

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
98
Location
Oman
Originally Posted by Skippy722
There is a learning procedure the techs must do from my understanding or it will act weird. Even doing that, it still needs to be driven to relearn your particular patterns.
but how about the issue that I didn't' have before for example when you shift to Drive or Reverse I get a huge bump. I didn't have this before, and I don't think that it is a part of the learning process?
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
53,105
Location
Ontario, Canada
Trans likely needs a reset and relearn. This behind the V6 or V8? I've never had to do that when I've done an update, but then I've never experienced your initial issues with the 8HP. It probably needed a reset and relearn from the get go and the change of software has just compounded the issue.
 

John344

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
98
Location
Oman
Originally Posted by OVERKILL
Trans likely needs a reset and relearn. This behind the V6 or V8? I've never had to do that when I've done an update, but then I've never experienced your initial issues with the 8HP. It probably needed a reset and relearn from the get go and the change of software has just compounded the issue.
The one I have is the V6, What they said is that they did a transmission update, but whatever they did the is worst than before.
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
53,105
Location
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by John344
Originally Posted by OVERKILL
Trans likely needs a reset and relearn. This behind the V6 or V8? I've never had to do that when I've done an update, but then I've never experienced your initial issues with the 8HP. It probably needed a reset and relearn from the get go and the change of software has just compounded the issue.
The one I have is the V6, What they said is that they did a transmission update, but whatever they did the is worst than before.
Yeah, likely because it needed a reset and re-learn and they only updated it. Take it back, tell them what is happening and have them do the reset and re-learn and test drive to confirm it is fixed. It's a very well regarded transmission (the 8HP) so I would be surprised if there's anything actually wrong with the trans other than having its brain scrambled.
 

CT8

Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
15,369
Location
Idaho
Why are you complaining on a website ? Call the dealer they can do something.
 

CT8

Joined
Oct 9, 2014
Messages
15,369
Location
Idaho
Originally Posted by Danno
He's just trying to get some advice.
Call the dealer.is advice.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Location
Great Lakes
Originally Posted by John344
Originally Posted by Skippy722
There is a learning procedure the techs must do from my understanding or it will act weird. Even doing that, it still needs to be driven to relearn your particular patterns.
but how about the issue that I didn't' have before for example when you shift to Drive or Reverse I get a huge bump. I didn't have this before, and I don't think that it is a part of the learning process?
PROXI alignment, that's what it's called according to Allpar. If they don't do it, it can cause the trans to bang into gear, like what you're describing.
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
53,105
Location
Ontario, Canada
Thanks for the share, I didn't know the process actually had a name, it's just something you select under Witech when the vehicle is plugged in, just like doing the update. I've never done the re-learn on mine, as it has never been spelled out as a required step in the errata for any of the updates I've installed for the TCM. For other modules however, a re-learn procedure has indeed been indicated as necessary and the process to do so also noted. I'm a huge fan of Witech, I think it is one of the best systems and was definitely a step-up from what Ford was doing around the time it was introduced, though I'm not sure what Ford's system looks like at this time.
 

John344

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
98
Location
Oman
Originally Posted by OVERKILL
Originally Posted by John344
Originally Posted by OVERKILL
Trans likely needs a reset and relearn. This behind the V6 or V8? I've never had to do that when I've done an update, but then I've never experienced your initial issues with the 8HP. It probably needed a reset and relearn from the get go and the change of software has just compounded the issue.
The one I have is the V6, What they said is that they did a transmission update, but whatever they did the is worst than before.
Yeah, likely because it needed a reset and re-learn and they only updated it. Take it back, tell them what is happening and have them do the reset and re-learn and test drive to confirm it is fixed. It's a very well regarded transmission (the 8HP) so I would be surprised if there's anything actually wrong with the trans other than having its brain scrambled.
Originally Posted by CT8
Originally Posted by Danno
He's just trying to get some advice.
Call the dealer.is advice.
It's already in the dealer I took it back the soonest I found out. I hope they understand what they are doing and they do the reset for me.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
7,996
Location
Ohio
Why isn't this "relearn procedure" built into the software update procedure so it's automatically done ?
 

John344

Thread starter
Joined
Apr 14, 2019
Messages
98
Location
Oman
Originally Posted by Skippy722
Originally Posted by John344
Originally Posted by Skippy722
There is a learning procedure the techs must do from my understanding or it will act weird. Even doing that, it still needs to be driven to relearn your particular patterns.
but how about the issue that I didn't' have before for example when you shift to Drive or Reverse I get a huge bump. I didn't have this before, and I don't think that it is a part of the learning process?
PROXI alignment, that's what it's called according to Allpar. If they don't do it, it can cause the trans to bang into gear, like what you're describing.
Should I tell them about this or they should already know it, I mean I don't want to tell them what they are supposed to do?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
5,469
Location
Great Lakes
Originally Posted by OVERKILL
Originally Posted by Skippy722
Originally Posted by John344
Originally Posted by Skippy722
There is a learning procedure the techs must do from my understanding or it will act weird. Even doing that, it still needs to be driven to relearn your particular patterns.
but how about the issue that I didn't' have before for example when you shift to Drive or Reverse I get a huge bump. I didn't have this before, and I don't think that it is a part of the learning process?
PROXI alignment, that's what it's called according to Allpar. If they don't do it, it can cause the trans to bang into gear, like what you're describing.
Thanks for the share, I didn't know the process actually had a name, it's just something you select under Witech when the vehicle is plugged in, just like doing the update. I've never done the re-learn on mine, as it has never been spelled out as a required step in the errata for any of the updates I've installed for the TCM. For other modules however, a re-learn procedure has indeed been indicated as necessary and the process to do so also noted. I'm a huge fan of Witech, I think it is one of the best systems and was definitely a step-up from what Ford was doing around the time it was introduced, though I'm not sure what Ford's system looks like at this time.
No problem! I'm not sure if it's required for simple updates or not, but it probably wouldn't hurt. Never got to play with Witech, but I'm considering buying AlfaOBD.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Messages
1,619
Location
Indiana
Originally Posted by CT8
Why are you complaining on a website ? Call the dealer they can do something.
Agree....everybody knows the best way to get your car fixed is with Tweater.... grin2
 

OVERKILL

$100 Site Donor 2021
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Messages
53,105
Location
Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted by Hall
Why isn't this "relearn procedure" built into the software update procedure so it's automatically done ?
Because typically it isn't necessary. If it is, it will be spelled out in the documentation attached to the update.
 
Top