Cryo treatment and barrier coatings? (thermal etc)

Status
Not open for further replies.
So since i'm a guy who drives too much and expects to continue driving too much once I resume work i'm always trying to figure out ways to minimize "total lifetime cost" of my vehicle needs mostly fuel and maintenance.

Two technologies that i've read about, seen occasional periodic articles about, but do NOT seem mentioned very much at all are cryogenic treatment and the technology of various metal coatings, most commonly known are probably Thermal Barrier Coatings sometimes put on piston tops, but there are other coatings - dry film lubrication, anti corrosion, water shedding, oil shedding (like on a crankshaft weight where it doesn't need it), etc.

I know of them - but I am no expert in any of them. I'm trying to find someone who is, or can direct me to definitive resources (ie - not the marketing/propaganda page of the guys selling it :^) talking about how effective they are, maybe tests and comparisons "with and without". What parts you can treat, could treat, shouldn't treat. Whats worth the money, what isnt.

For instance i've heard of gears gaining about 10% strength with cryo treatment but more importantling lasting 3-5x as long. I've HEARD that, but would like documentation, objective tests, etc.

I'm curious whether the same could be done to brake rotors or brake pads. Or if anything might be applied to a cylinder wall to extend lifespan between needing rebuild.

I'm sure it matters, but on a TCO basis I'm willing to guess it's far from ever paying for itself--on a TCO basis it's better to buy a plain jane car, and replace a motor that is worn out after 250k with a $400 100kmile example than it would ever be to rebuilt said 250k engine, cryo-treated components or not. Extend that to every other part of the drivetrain.