Consequences of Grease Viscosity on Start-Up TQ

At start-up, how pronounced are the differences in resistance to motion between a grease with the following viscosities (cSt @ 40ºC)? The values are all from NLGI #1 greases.
  • 150 cSt
  • 220 cSt
  • 313 cSt
To a layperson, it appears as though the first grease requires considerably less start-up torque than the third grease. .

I'm not an expert on this but I believe as a "rule of thumb" you are correct. However, the type of and content % of the thickener will also come into play. A thinner base oil will generally require more thickener to get the grease to the same NGLI #, so there can be some offset in the benefit to the thinner base oil. The thicker base oil will also tend to protect better under high load conditions. Maybe one of the real pros will chime in.

Slalom4me

Thanks. Is the Viscosity reported by ASTM D 445 indicative of the viscosity of the final grease product (ie: w/ additives)? Or is it describing the viscosity of the base stock? .

Slalom4me

Originally Posted By: salesrep
Base oil properties.
Thanks, salesrep. Would three NLGI #1 greases formulated from base oil with the varying cSt Viscosities above (post #1) appear to have a similar thickness/consistency when dispensed? That is to say, do the additives bring the final product to a standard level, despite the differences in the base oil viscosity? .

Slalom4me