CCleaner 4.45

Status
Not open for further replies.
The How-To-Geek website/blog has just come out and said they no longer recommend CCleaner and do not recommend anyone upgrade to CCleaner 4.45. It stays running in the background and re-enables itself if you shut it down. They feel the native tools in Windows 7 and 10 do a fine job.

Last edited:
I always told that particularly since Windows 8.1 these softwares were useless most of the time. And I work in the field for a living.

Is the free version of CCleaner also in the toilet?

I'm using CCleaner free version 5.43 so will just run that forever I guess. I only use CCleaner to clean the registry anyway. I typically use the Windows "Disk Cleanup" tool to clean temp files, cookies, etc.

I will say this about CC cleaner....It does clean junk files in places that Disk Cleanup doesn't. It also cleans areas that Bleach Bit doesn't.

Having said that, disk cleanup and bleachbit are more than adequate without CCcleaner.

I figured this out on my own after CCleaner was nagging me in a Windows 10 install. Ditched it after that except for XP laptop I use for Word files. The trend is my favorite utilities now have too many strings attached. "Something for nothing, no way" is a saying that seems to apply.

I feel like all of these programs are scams, on my W10 machines I just use the built in Windows Defender and I've never had an issue.

Originally Posted By: dishdude
I feel like all of these programs are scams, on my W10 machines I just use the built in Windows Defender and I've never had an issue.

^^^^ Exactly ^^^^ They are the modern day version of "Snake Oil" remember people who used to add stuff to their motor oil? Its the same thing.

In fact, many of these programs cause more problems on the computer then not...

and ... in the case of CC cleaner, it WAS used in a hacking scandal just last year, people pay for this garbage, amazing how modern day marketing gets in peoples minds.

CC Cleaner Breach - Click