Castrol Edge 5W/30, 8073 mi, 07 Murano, VQ35DE V-6

Status
Not open for further replies.
Below is the latest UOA from my Nissan Murano.

After nearly 80K miles on PP 5W30, I decided to switch over to Castrol Edge for no particular reason.

I used a Bosch D3323 DistancePlus oil filter and a AFE Pro Dry air filter.

I am the original owner and frequently travel on interstate highways.
Thanks for looking.

e49402.jpg

Nice report. Just wondering what's longest OCI you have done on your Mo? I have a 06, currently running M1-EP 5w-30. I am closing in on 7500mi now. Just curious how far I can push this oil.

The latest UOA (8073 mi.) is the longest interval to date. I gradually increased the OCI's and settled in to a 72-74K mile frequency.
I have no experience with M1 on this vehicle, however, if you decide to change it soon then pay extra for the TBN and you will have a good baseline for future OCI's

Looks excellent for a VQ that beats oil up(also depends on driving style, and CVT might be more immune to that abuse than 'gears').

I would keep interval at
TAN would be interesting. And, nitration, oxidation, sulfation, from another lab, would give you more info.

Originally Posted By: Carpet_Bagger
The latest UOA (8073 mi.) is the longest interval to date. I gradually increased the OCI's and settled in to a 72-74K mile frequency.
I have no experience with M1 on this vehicle, however, if you decide to change it soon then pay extra for the TBN and you will have a good baseline for future OCI's

Will you be sticking with Castrol Edge, or are you going back to Pennzoil Platinum.

I would like to change oil when TBN downs to around 2 or a little higher, no less. TBN of 1.4 is a little too low. Castrol Edge in this Murano and driving style should be changed out at around 7-7.5k miles.

Nice report. I would stick to 7,500 OCI's. I would also save some money and buy a Fram Extended Guard filter over the Bosch DP.

Originally Posted By: Finklejag