Can’t explain to the elderly that they don’t need an oil change after 8mo/23 miles.

Men are crazy about oil change knowledge,,,I can say that because my birthcertificate says male,,,1946 lmaorof......never a ruined engine in my lifetime due to oil failure, we guys are nuts, left oil in a 74
f100 ford pickup for 3 years,never failed to start and ran well,,,so see, this oil change business is all up there in that concrete block between our ears,,of couse its true,,,I got it off the TV

I'll be waiting to read your post 5 years from now titled, "My engine is all sludged up despite changing the oil every 10,000 miles whether it need to be changed or not."

Well, considering I've been doing it on multiple vehicles for close to 15 years...you might be waiting a while on that.

This IS BITOG-most on here won't bat an eye at a 10K interval using a quality synthetic in a modern engine. Aside from that, the bulk of the miles I put on my daily are 60mph+ interstate miles in trips of 30 minutes or much longer-or in other words about the easiest kind of driving on both the engine and oil.

Last edited:
Aside from that, the bulk of the miles I put on my daily are 60mph+ interstate miles in trips of 30 minutes or much longer-or in other words about the easiest kind of driving on both the engine and oil.
I agree.
I did a few 10k changes when I was doing mostly highway driving, and the UOA came back just fine.

I don't do 10k changes in any of my vehicles because I do mostly short tripping or have warranty requirements.

If you're not on reddit you should be. Some great subs -

r/askcarsales
r/justrolledinforscrap
r/justrolledintotheshop
r/s****y_car_mods

If you're not on reddit you should be. Some great subs -

r/askcarsales
Just an old-boy forum. And some of the language and off color comments they use every day would be removed here in an instant. They still have a moderator named meatloaf? He banned me years ago just for calling him out on some facts he erroneously stated.