Boating Observations

...from a novice.

There really needs to be some sort of uniform license system, and I'm generally a small govt. type... Maybe based on power, use (coastal, etc.), weight/length, whatever but it is a bit crazy that in many states you are only a check, credit card or friendly loan officer away from the water. I'm a prime example; never touched a boat until 2018, self taught on ~18' lake boats until the very end of last year and bang, into a coastal cruiser. Now I did the Power Squadron training, safety and on water courses, but none of that was mandated. I shook the sales guy's hand and was handed the keys to a 33', 700hp weapon...crazy.

Over the past month I've seen 2 boats almost t-bone each other, one under sail having the right of way, a huge sportfisher pass a small bowrider so close as to hit it with its bow spray and, while tying up our boat, 3 groups of folks on three boats hurling F bombs at each other after one passed the other two in the marina lane.

That said....I love boating and am now an addict! Sail on!

Thoughts??

Your answer is here.

1662316393494.jpg

With the current state of the US and really the world, let's start with a test/license to reproduce. :ROFLMAO: My friends have boats, 40ft's and cigars. I love the water and am an avid canoe and kayaker but the big boats don't do it for me. Granted I am in NY and the Hudson and some time in the Atlantic by Long Island doesn't give the same OMG as I'd expect say in FL.

...from a novice.