Best build quality car is the Toyota Century?

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's too hot out today to do anything useful, so I've been laying around doing a little light-weight reading, some of which involved an article in the August Motor Trend about the Toyota Century, a car that you like I have some vague knowledge of that's rarely seen outside of Japan.
This is Toyota's state limo model, now in its third generation. Gen 2 actually had its very own dedicated V-12 not seen in any other application.
The amount of hand work the factory that builds these cars uses is amazing. The body lines and panel alignment, paint process as well as interior all involve a huge number of hand labor hours. The interior wood alone consumes fifteen hours of mostly hand labor. The author described the finished paint as beyond anything he'd ever seen on any other top-tree car.
All of this perfection is available for a mere $180K, cheap as compared to most more prestigious names with far less attention to detail in their assembly.
Good to know that Toyota still gets it in a way that the current owners of some older guard ultra luxe names don't seem to.
The Century is described as a car to be driven in and not a driver's car, although this seems unsurprising.

Last edited:
I just read this article, today. It was fascinating.

Only 7 robots are used to assemble the car. EVERYTHING else is done by hand. The doors are hung by hand, body gaps and accent lines are formed by hand, the paint uses 7 layers that's applied BY HAND. It's an absolutely amazing machine.

The previous generation used the only Toyota V12 ever made, and they never allowed it to be installed in any other vehicle line.

i found out about this car a few years ago and didn't know it was getting a redesign. I was surprised by the amount of work. Certainly a car with a concept that is uniquely Japanese.

Other cars you won't find here in the U.S.A. are the Toyota Hilux-- 4 bangers that can out-tow an F350.