Bed Bugs!!

So my daughter just told me they found bed bugs in my young grand son's room. This probably explains the recent "rash" issue they thought he had.
She called an exterminator and their quote was $ 2200.

They just can't seem to catch a break when it comes to big money things happening.

ouch ... $2200 is a lot of money. If it is still cold up there, maybe open all the windows for a few days and stay in a hotel. Come back and see if they are gone! :ROFLMAO:

"you need to cook them out."
Funny, there's an extermination company here featuring Roscoe, the Bedbug (sniffing/detecting) Dog which touts their "cryofreeze" treatments. The images look like liquid CO2 being sprayed all over....the opposite of cooking.

I have no idea how to combat them.

I am a school administrator and deal with this all the time, having families come to me to ask what to do about infestations. What I can tell you is that heat treatment, which is offered by many exterminators, is not effective. The bugs simply go where the heat isn't so bad, even hiding behind insulation. We had a company come out that chemically exterminated them. We had to do a great deal of prep, but their process worked 100%. The did two treatments, including the first and then one follow-up. Bugs were gone and we haven't seen one since. Our house is large, at 6k square feet. We have 9 kids and grandma living with us. So it was a Golden Corral for the bed bugs. I was amazed that the company nailed it in one try. I have recommended them to many others and they all have been 100% satisfied. The owner of the company explained to me at the beginning why heat treatment does not work and many of his clients are folks who have spent lots of money on those ineffective treatments.