Beater Ford Ranger...BAD 5th gear in Tranny

Status
Not open for further replies.
Anyone else experience several replacements of gears (particularily 5th..)in their mitsubishi manual transmission on an 89 or similar Ford Ranger?

quote:

Originally posted by lubechick:
Anyone else experience several replacements of gears (particularily 5th..)in their mitsubishi manual transmission on an 89 or similar Ford Ranger?

What's the problem?
Know a lot of guys over the years with a lot of trucks.
Chuncks of metal? Grinding? ...
I'm no mechanic...but
I know some guys I think they had a 91 Toyota and a 91-92 Ford with Trany and rear-end problems.
They were both around 380-420K. The trany on the Totota was due to some plastic part I think and something had to be replaced. Rear-ends replaced from wear.
Been doing a lot of courier work, so I've seen a lot of trucks

I have rebuilt 3 ranger 5 speeds in the last few years. The common factor in all was a new mainshaft because of wear.My buddy at the trans shop uses 20/50 wt motor oil instead of 85-90 GL5 and he claims success on these transmissions.In my 81 Toyota 4X4 with the 5 speed I rebuilt it at 103,000 miles. I put in 20/50 castrol and it now has 237,000 miles with no noise.

quote:

Originally posted by Mitch:
*-*-*-*.In my 81 Toyota 4X4 with the 5 speed I rebuilt it at 103,000 miles. I put in 20/50 castrol and it now has 237,000 miles with no noise.

All the couriers I have known, that take care of their trucks usually get rid of them where I have been (300-360K). they don't want to replace things and sell them and get new ones.
The guys that keep them a lot replace things like Tran and rear between 380-420K. Right now My rear is Loose, I'm worried. They just don't make them as good as before.
Most guys I have known can (use to get 7-900K+)