BackUp Sump/Battery Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm replacing my main sump pump soon (quality Zoeller M63) and got a hair up my rear that I should also install a battery backup pump also. It's a utility basement (not finished), we have about one event every 5 years that requires clean up (never more than an inch) , usually from some type of pump "incident" situation (i.e., mouse clog, failed breaker, etc.). "Gray water" goes into the sump also (don't ask). In this instance, the backup is really for convenience (no cleanup) and is not super critical like in a susceptible flood zone/finished basement. I question that I even need backup, let alone a $1,000+ unit.

I studied Sump Pumps Direct site and Amazon reviews (I know). I educated myself about AGM deep cycle battery care here: http://www.eastpenn-deka.com/assets/base/0139.pdf (EXCELLENT READ)

Any knowledgeable advice appreciated??:
- Prices range from $150 - $1,300+, sans battery. More $$$ gets better components and wifi notification.
- In my sub $500 (total)range, component quality seems inconsistent: pump vs. switch vs. battery charger vs. audible alarm. Can't seem to get all 4 excellent.
- Many recommend an AGM deep cycle battery while some say either AGM/Flooded deep cycle is o.k..

AGM deep cycle batteries recommend sophisticated charging. Flooded deep cycle batteries are more forgiving, but vent gas, etc.. Some AGM sump kits only come with a 1-2 amp wall wart charger. Some sump kits have a "better" charger, but a cheap looking bilge style pump.

I need help figuring out a "good enough for my circumstances" system at a value priced cost. Again, pump, switch, charger, alarm, and battery are the components. I'm mostly confused about pump quality and especially battery/charger choices. Kleenex brand kits are Zoeller, Liberty, Wayne, Glentronics (Watchdog/PHCC).

Whew! Thank you.

Flooded deep cycle batteries will give you less headaches over the long run.