Avast Secure Online / CCleaner question

Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
9,283
Location
Fayetteville, NC
1. Just updated Avast free version (the program version, not just virus definitions), and it looks a bit different and gave me this notification that Secure Online is not enabled... Under tools you get this: (see screen shot): What IS this ? should I enable it or leave it off? 2. CCleaner also updated (program version) after a long time, and now it's sitting in the task bar, and saying something like ACTIVE PROTECION IS ON .. is this a new feature? I didn't think CCleaner FREE had any ACTIVE protection/monitoring... I think it monitors cookies and stuff? Do you guys leave this on? for now I have "exited" CCleaner in task bar, and quite the "monitoring"... I don't want this slowing the system down, esp. on our small netbook. Thanks for any answers/feedback.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2014
Messages
493
Location
Texas
The Avast secure line is a pay product soon as you click to enable it it asks you to buy it. The CCleaner I think you have a professional free trial... IIRC the free version doesn;t offer monitoring.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2011
Messages
5,145
Location
Lima, Ohio, USA
Re: CCleaner, it's a new feature in the latest version of the free version. there's even a monitoring tab under the settings screen.
 
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
154
Location
WA
CCleaner 4.18 Change log: Added Active System Monitoring for Free users Improved Firefox Saved Password cleaning Improved Opera History cleaning Improved 64-bit build architecture for Window 8 and 8.1 Added Ashampoo Burning Studio 14, XnView and FastStone Capture cleaning Improved localization support Minor GUI Improvements Minor bug fixes
 

97tbird

Thread starter
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
9,283
Location
Fayetteville, NC
Ah! Thanks, guys. Just another Avast 'ad' I guess. They sure have a lot of them now smirk I guess I will let CCleaner do the active monitoring for a bit and see if it affects performance / speed.
 
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
766
Location
Arizona
Re: CCleaner.... You can turn the "Stay active in task bar off by going here: Open CCleaner - Then, Options/Monitoring/Enable or Disable Active monitoring. (Uncheck the two boxes) This way... it will behave just like the previous version and not stay active in your task bar. Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
16,681
Location
NE,Ohio
Just fyi CCLEANER Free now has unwanted toolbars bundled with it. I was going to download it just to look at it.. but eset blocked it for having toolbars smile
 

97tbird

Thread starter
Joined
May 9, 2003
Messages
9,283
Location
Fayetteville, NC
Originally Posted By: JGmazda
Re: CCleaner.... You can turn the "Stay active in task bar off by going here: Open CCleaner - Then, Options/Monitoring/Enable or Disable Active monitoring. (Uncheck the two boxes) This way... it will behave just like the previous version and not stay active in your task bar. Hope this helps.
Thanks!
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
2,329
Location
Lexington, KY
The standard installer for the free CCleaner has had an unwanted toolbar for a long time, but I've always found the option to exclude the toolbar from the setup. I haven't tried the latest, however. I appreciate that 'free' software eventually has to bring the authors some income, and suspect that the bundled toolbar is for this purpose. Piriform does have 'slim' versions of many of their installers that contain no extras like toolbars.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2003
Messages
16,681
Location
NE,Ohio
I just find it IRONIC that CCLEANER a program to remove junk is bundled with junk. Surely there is a better way to drum up a few $$$
 
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
154
Location
WA
A 'slim' version of CCleaner can be downloaded from the builds page. The slim version adds nothing. It's just the program itself.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
36,339
Location
NY
Originally Posted By: Rand
I just find it IRONIC that CCLEANER a program to remove junk is bundled with junk. Surely there is a better way to drum up a few $$$
Exactly.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
14,505
Location
Top of Virginia
Maybe it's splitting hairs, but CCleaner is not an adware/malware cleaning software, right? The "junk" it removes is temporary files, extraneous registry entries, etc. I agree that it'd be nice if it didn't include other software, but the kind of "junk" it removes is different from the kind of "junk" with which it's bundled, right?
 
Top