Anyone interested in an AmazonBasics charger?

I can't find my old Schumacher 1.5 A battery maintainer. I have an older one without reverse polarity protection. I guess I could use it, but I'd prefer a new one. I was thinking about the 1 A NOCO GENIUS. Right now I'm using my Schumacher 3/12A charger which goes to the 3A maintain mode, but I'd prefer something with a little less for routine maintenance.

But I noticed this. Looks like it's Schumacher. The 800 mA one looks almost like the one (a 750 mA Schumacher SC1) I got my folks. However, that cost less than $12 at WM. I thought that Schumacher made some private label stuff for Sears.

61%2BID6HJVqL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

61qvMlvHUWL._AC_SL1225_.jpg

51TT2b3XLcL._AC_SL1100_.jpg

It all depends on how well it performs. I have a few Motomaster (Canadian Tire house brand) chargers, and have had mixed results. I find that all too often, they seem to be pushing current to batteries that are charged, resulting in "boiling" electrolyte at the end of the charge cycle. And no, there isn't a desulphation program indicated. This includes a 2A battery maintainer. All of that to say, saving a few bucks on a charger isn't worth it to me if the charger may shorten the life of hundreds of dollars worth of batteries.

With that in mind, I just bought a Noco Genius 10. I've run it on multiple batteries, and it seems to be working much more reliably.

It all depends on how well it performs. I have a few Motomaster (Canadian Tire house brand) chargers, and have had mixed results. I find that all too often, they seem to be pushing current to batteries that are charged, resulting in "boiling" electrolyte at the end of the charge cycle. And no, there isn't a desulphation program indicated. This includes a 2A battery maintainer. All of that to say, saving a few bucks on a charger isn't worth it to me if the charger may shorten the life of hundreds of dollars worth of batteries.