Anyone in Engineering or manufacturing notice a shift towards short term contract roles?

Hi gang, Just some musings.....I'm in the middle of a career reboot and have noticed a wild increase to short term contracts in manufacturing related design / engineering work.

It has me thinking of a role in technical recruiting.......It doesnt seem like it'll be going away at any time soon with the current global turmoil.

Thoughts?

Not to dive too deep - Yes, contract opportunities are increasing and will continue to do so. This is occurring across just about every sector. If you have specific Q's, feel free to DM me, I work in the industry.

From a manufacturers point of view, normally we have 4-5 engineers/R&D/designers on staff. We have 2 currently and have a lot of projects we need competent engineers. We are in a hard to hire area (California Central Valley) and while we prefer to have someone in house we are becoming more open to an outside temporary employee to get us through this backlog. If everyone is like us, finding help is a challenge (in all areas of our operation) and I think that is what is driving this.

I had a contract assignment once at a major semiconductor company. Before I left, I was talking to another contractor - one who went from job to job and was paid a premium for it. He said that there were basically three categories of contract employees brought in.

1) They really need someone with the expertise for a limited amount of time.
2) They have a hiring freeze and the only way around that is with contractors even at a high price.
3) They need someone to blame.