Amsoil SSO 0-30w, 9k miles, 08 GMC Arcadia w3.6 L

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to this forum, synthetic engine oil, UOA, and extended OCI. My whole life I've use Dinosaur oil at 3k mile OCI. I a DIYer whenever possible. I'm a retired pilot so I've known of UOA for aircraft, but didn't realize it was so inexpensive. I own 2 SUVs, a piston powered airplane, 2 diesel pusher motor homes, and a 2 stroke outboard. I am trying to decrease the time I spend doing routine oil/filter changes. So far, I've only switched our 2 SUV over to Amsoil SSO 0-30w and I'm trying to determine the correct xOCI for ea.

Here is the info on our 08 GMC 2wd Arcadia w/3.6L. We bought it used in late 09 w/36k miles. We live in the country so it doesn't see much stop n go driving, its mostly easy hwy miles. It is my wifes car and she was in charge of keeping the oil, oil filter, & air filter changed in a timely manner. She relied on the cars onboard electronic system to tell her when it was time. In 4/10, I decided to take charge of this mx for her. I decided to switch to Amsoil SSO 0-30w, a Fram oil filter, since Amsoil has a tech bulletin stating not to use their EaO47 oil filter.

In 4/10, w/42k miles on the vehicle, I drained, and installed 5 qts of SSO and a Fram TG10060 stock replacement oil filter. 8 mths and 9k miles later, I decided to do a UOA. I pulled a sample an sent it to Oil Analyzers Inc. Here are the results:

WEAR METALS-PPM
Iron 20
Chromium 0
Copper 7
Tin 0
Lead 0
Chrom 0
Nickel 0
Alum 5
Tin 0
Silver 0
Cadmium 0
Vanadium 0
CONTAMINANT METALS-PPM
Silicon 42
Sodium 15
Potassium 4
MULTI SOURCE METALS
Magne 0
Titan 0
Molybdenum 10
Antim 0
Mang 3
Lith 0
Boron 9
ADDITIVE METALS-PPM
Magnes 12
Calcium 3115
Barium 0
Phosph 542
Zinc 627

V100C 10.1
I-R Oxidation 44
I-R Nitra 35
TBN 10.1
Fuel Soot Vol Water
LAB COMMENTS: Silicon/dirt are at a Moderate level; Oil is suitable for continued use.