Amsoil 5W30 Signature Series vs Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck 5W40

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just a disclaimer, I am not an expert in these matters and this is just one analysis. Also comparing these two oils is like comparing apples and oranges. They are not in the same class.

So, that being said, I just got back my Blackstone report. The first one on the sheet is Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck 5W40 and the other one is Amsoil 5W30 Signature Series.

[Linked Image]

Originally Posted by 4WD
Price difference but not much else ?

It sure looks that way. Results were almost identical when you're talking wear metals in ppm. The TBN is a little surprising though.

Moly seems high on the Mobil1. I don't think it normally has nearly that much.
Not shown in the UOA is the MPG loss with 5w40. Pushing the thicker stuff around inside there is around a 1.5% difference, extra hydrodynamic drag friction.

The differences...

1. One oil is thicker than the other. Amsoil did a great job at keeping their oil thin and achieving 5W40-like performance in a 5W30 oil.

2. Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck 5W40 is less expensive than Amsoil and available on the shelf at Walmart. Amsoil must be ordered and you have to wait to get it. Not sure what the options are to return Amsoil, but Walmart has a great return policy if you get 2nd thoughts.

3. Amsoil Signature Series designed for gas only engines and Mobil 1 is dual-use gas/diesel.

Just checked price

Walmart Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck $24 per gallon

Amsoil SS 5W30 $51 a gallon without Preferred Customer status, 25% less with that status

Another question someone might have of me is why not Shell Rotella T6. T6 is not rated as dual-use or all-fleet by the manufacturer. I believe when you email Shell about it they will tell you its bad for catalytic converters. Mobil 1 is a dual-use oil and states specifically its API SN rated.