American Airlines mechanic in Miami charged with sabotaging plane. It aborted ta

Status
Not open for further replies.
American Airlines mechanic in Miami charged with sabotaging plane. It aborted takeoff.

What a piece of trash to tamper with the ADM system.
mad.gif

https://www.miamiherald.com/news/local/article234766107.html

He claimed that he was trying to get himself some overtime for debugging and fixing the problem when the plane came back...they definitely need to interrogate this guy closely and look carefully into his background, and that would be true even if his name was John Smith.

I work in the aviation field. Never, ever, have I seen or met someone who intentionally sabotages an aircraft. In fact, when we do disable a non essential system via the MEL, it's done with the manufacturers and FAA approval via approved data. Furthermore, the information is made available to the crew via placards on the non operative equipment and clearly stated in the daily flight log / daily cockpit paperwork. There are known trends and known groups that specifically target aviation, all of us would do well to be alert for any irregularities. These groups regularly target everything from airline food all the way up to the flights themselves. As always, best to be alert and aware.

Last edited:
Even if the perp's intentions were as stated, you'd think a veteran mechanic would know literally a hundred better ways to get OT pay without putting 150 people at risk.

Originally Posted by Reddy45
Even if the perp's intentions were as stated, you'd think a veteran mechanic would know literally a hundred better ways to get OT pay without putting 150 people at risk.

Of course he did. That's why any argument to the contrary is bogus.

Originally Posted by Mr Nice
The guy's name is irrelevant if plane crashed and 150+ people killed. Look at OKC FBI building....