a little puzzled by the value of UOA's

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a bit of a novice to this, so please forgive if this is a dumb question. I don't doubt the usefulness of UOA's to see how well an oil is holding up against viscosity breakdown and engine wear. But it seems to me that a very important property of the oil is its to keep things clean and to not allow varnish or sludge to form. Is there anything in a UOA that gives an indication of this?

I ask because my previous car was a 2001 Toyota Corolla. Not a known sludger, supposedly. But from probably 50k on there was visible varnish and even some dark brown material visible on the dipstick.

I wasn't great with the maintenance (too many other crises going on in my life at the time), but it did get regualr oil changes at not more than 4500 mile intervals at a Valvoline quickie place. By 120k miles, things were beginning to get serious. I think shorter intervals, or maybe synthetic oil, were called for here, but I thought that what I was doing was reasonable at the time and it easily met Toyota's requirements. Would a UOA have caught this?

Yes it probably would have. The insolubles would have been high with the interval you where doing. You would also have seen the oil thinning out quickly. What you are seeing is fairly normal with standard dino oil. One of the reason to use synthetic. With the newer SM oils this may not happen anymore but I am still not quite a believer yet. However auto-rx will return your engine to close to new with several treatments. Then synthetic can keep it that way or pray the newer SM oils will.

A couple other things that UOA's are useful for-coolant in the oil (indicating a head gasket issue) or excessive fuel dilution.

I think you're quite right, dinosauract. That is probably the biggest oil-related concern that UOAs don't address.