96 Taurus ABS light

Joined
Jun 25, 2009
Messages
4,065
Location
Chicago, IL
in most cases the problem is either a broken wire going to a wheel sensor or a bad wheel sensor. these are exposed to the elements and take some abuse.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2005
Messages
36,251
Location
NY
 Originally Posted By: oilboy123
My Daughter said the ABS light is on. Is there any way to get the codes with out going to a shop or buying a $259 code reader?
Does the horn work? Is the light blinking? If it is blinking 3 times pause then 2 times, and the horn and cruise control are not working it is the clock switch. I just replaced one on a 93 Aerostar. The part is about $100 online, and about a 2 hour project. HTH
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2005
Messages
16,243
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
 Originally Posted By: RoGuE
Autozone or Advance Auto will read them for free. Once oyu have the code post it here or go to http://www.Tauruscarclub.com and post it in the forums.
btw in some states they cant. in CA they cant because the people pulling the codes arent smog technicians.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2009
Messages
1,645
Location
SF Bay Area
the real story is for California, the big auto repair box shops and the dealerships got together to force AZ and kragens from performing the procedure because "they aren't trained technicians and will offer wrong advice." This is still pending in CA. AZ got smart and in CA only, will not perform the procedure, BUT will loan the scan tool to the customer for free and the customer will go and scan the codes themselves. Dunno if kragen's does this or not, I know AZ does. What's even more funny.. the consumer can BUY a code scanner and do with it what they want. AZ is simply empowering the consumer and I see nothing wrong with that. By the customer having the code, they can take away the 1hr "diagnostic" time to simply read the code and nothing more. I've heard of shops complaining about it, the "easy money" now needs to be earned. Who's to say that a shop and a trained technician gives the right advice? Aamco also does the free code scanning as well. I know there's usually something more to the code itself, but it does give the consumer a peace of mind knowing what the code is, they may not know what it means, but they know what it is and can research it if they so choose.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
2,441
Location
snowblind in TX
Part of the problem was Autozone would pull codes, and based on those codes would sell a customer a part (often an unreturnable electrical part). If the part didn't fix it then, "Oh well!" From personal experience, I had customers with lean codes, as well as 2 new Autozone O2 sensors, come in only to have me replace a 50 cent piece of vac line to fix the real problem. Got no problems with Autozone pulling codes and giving info, I do have a problem with them ripping off ignorant customers.
 

oilboy123

Thread starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
6,990
Location
Everett, Washington
Called Schucks and Autozone and they both said they won't scan ABS codes........ Looks like code readers are kind of pricey for not being used very often. Looks like about $130 and up for a scanner.....I might wait and inspect my Daughter's wheel speed sensors when I can get near her car.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2003
Messages
36,782
Location
ME
You better hope it's not a rear issue. There aren't any connectors in the wire between the hub and somewhere inside the floor pan!
 

oilboy123

Thread starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
6,990
Location
Everett, Washington
 Originally Posted By: eljefino
You better hope it's not a rear issue. There aren't any connectors in the wire between the hub and somewhere inside the floor pan!
Are you saying I need to replace the hub bearing if the rear sensor is bad?
 

oilboy123

Thread starter
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
6,990
Location
Everett, Washington
 Originally Posted By: chevrofreak
No. Ford puts the connectors inside of the vehicle. On my Crown Vic, they run up through the floor pan and are inside of the trunk.
I see.....I will keep that in mind. Thanks guys
 
Top