96 Grand Cherokee 5.2L V8 130,000 miles

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alright, getting a 96 Grand Cherokee with the 318 V8 from a friend. Owners manual specs 10w30. 130,000 miles (209,214 km)

Going to be using it to and from work this winter all over the place, (mostly HWY miles) sometimes pulling a little trailer (I'm a Class C welder doing field work). Should be great for this bad winter they are telling us it will be.

Part of me wants to run Amsoil 0w30 AZO, and convert the whole driveline to synthetic, because I know it's going to get driven far every day and it might just help the MPG a little bit (it's not good with full time 4WD and a V8). It's also a very nice truck, fully loaded, leather interior, and would like to keep it in great shape.

Part of me says, keep this Jeep maintained as cheap as possible (because the mileage isn't that great anyway) and use OET or XL and change it every 10,000 km (6,000 miles)

Any other 5.2 owners here? Notice a big change to synthetic in these trucks on long drives?

You realize, of course, that highway miles at reasonable speeds are the easiest on the oil.

With mostly highway miles and light towing, any synthetic oil should get you 10K OCIs. Pennzoil Platinum and Quaker State Ultimate Durability are good bets.

Originally Posted By: OldCowboy
You realize, of course, that highway miles at reasonable speeds are the easiest on the oil.

With mostly highway miles and light towing, any synthetic oil should get you 10K OCIs. Pennzoil Platinum and Quaker State Ultimate Durability are good bets.

It won't all be highway, maybe 60% of the time, depending where work needs to be done.

Amsoil XL is a very good oil, there are others like Pennzoil Ultra, Platinum, QSUD on and on that will treat you well. You live in Richmond so you don't have any "severe" cold issues, but you need a good oil that won't get depressed with all those months of rain
wink.gif