2019 BMW 330i, Liquid Moly Spec Tec 5w-30, 46k Miles

Good afternoon, this is my first time posting here is any feedback or opinions are appreciated! I transitioned from BMW provided 0w-20 to 5w-30 Liquid Moly Special Tec had 5,587 miles on it. The car has an MST Closed box intake as well as a 300ml bottle of CERA Tec oil additive. Before transition I also used the LiquidMoly Pro-Line engine flush.
IMG_1120.jpeg

Welcome to BITOG! Like the report shows the Al was high. Which coinsides with high Silicon. Is there any relationship? it's possible but I would recommend another 6k run as they stated to see how the results look for more analysis comments. Good news is Iron & Copper for example are right inline with the averages. Thanks for sharing!

Last edited:
Check your intake connections or change back to the stock air box/air filter. The stock intake is not restricting power.
Viscosity and Flashpoint are good. Keep on driving.

Last edited:
We have no idea what is normal for this engine after 1 UOA. Al at 6ppm? that's not high at all. 19 Si? What's the VOA on that oil show? HPL oils have 10ppm in VOA so a 19 would be just fine. Moly/boron clearly from the Ceratec.

BITOG is so funny. You have folks posting UOAs with factory paper filters at higher Si levels than this. BITOG: "looks great, probably just the filter needing more loading to increase filtration" Use an afermarket intake/filter. BITOG: "oh my God it's that high flow filter/intake". Hilarious.

I agree with the fellas on this one… everything looks fine for the first analysis. Al is within the noise.

Si could be spiked simply from messing around with the intake during installation and could mean nothing.

Do another round of 5k and sample again.

We have no idea what is normal for this engine after 1 UOA. Al at 6ppm? that's not high at all. 19 Si? What's the VOA on that oil show? HPL oils have 10ppm in VOA so a 19 would be just fine. Moly/boron clearly from the Ceratec.