2003 Honda Civic Lx Sedan Oil Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, all!

I am new to this site so please bare with me as I learn the features and navigation of this site.

Currently, I drive a 2014 Honda Civic, which is leased, and will be turned into the Honda dealer in a couple months time. I have found, and have decided to buy, a 2003 Honda Civic to replace my 2014 due to me being in college and no longer wanting payments while in school. The car has 107,000 miles on it currently, with an automatic transmission, and I have no knowledge of past maintenance done on the vehicle other than a current oil sticker in the windshield, newer battery, alternator, and we were also informed that the timing belt and water pump have already been done on it.

I would like to do an oil change and a transmission drain and fill/flush at the very least right away. I am asking for opinions on which type of motor oil I should use. I would really like to stay within Honda's specs and use 5w-20 oil, if possible. Furthermore, I am a little hesitant, although I love it, to throw synthetic oil into it for fear that conventional oil may have been used for the majority of its life. I don't want any extra detergents in the synthetic oils to cause any deposits to break loose and cause leaks or burning oil.

In the past, before my lease, I had a 2002 Saturn SL2 and it burned oil so terribly that I had to add oil 2-3 times between oil changes (which I change every 3 months/3000 miles!) I do NOT want to run into the same issue with this Civic.