Check engine light on 97 GMC Sierra 350 V8 (P1406)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was driving my 1997 GMC Sierra today after it has been sitting in storage for 2 months. After driving it around the block the Check Engine Light came on. Everything seemed ok though and all guages were ok. I stopped by the auto parts store and they scaned it for me and found code P1406 which has something do do with the EGR system having a fault. While I was driving home the Check Engine Light went off and did not come back on. I restarted it several times and it never came back on. Did it fix itself?
If it still has this problem or if it comes back is this a hard fix on this truck? Anyone know what I need to do to fix it? I'd like to try fixing it myself if it is not to hard but I'm not a mechanic. Thanks for any help!!!

Last edited:
If it is the old style EGR like the one in my 94 Chevy V8, you can easily remove the EGR and clean the pintle and put it back on. Cost? A new gasket for 1.49. Check to make sure all connections are on tightly and in good conditions.

Agree with Milkman to a point.....things that "fix" themselves always scare me. I wouldn't be surprised to see it come back.

Off-the-wall-guess, since the vehicle wasn't run for a couple of months, I speculate the EGR valve was sluggish/gummed up. But until the light comes on for good, I wouldn't mess with it.

Originally Posted By: Jim Spahr
If it is the old style EGR like the one in my 94 Chevy V8, you can easily remove the EGR and clean the pintle and put it back on. Cost? A new gasket for 1.49. Check to make sure all connections are on tightly and in good conditions.

On that older system, oftentimes all you have to do is push it in manually a few times and it will get it working again if its stuck. No disassembly required. I don't think the Vortecs have the same EGR though.