Crazy claim I heard the other day regarding K&N

Status
Not open for further replies.
I overheard a mechanic the other day say that some Honda's that he has driven have intermittent problems when using a K&N oil filter, that is affects VTEC somehow.

Anyone heard of that or even experience such? I haven't tried K&N oil filters, yet, but I couldn't see how this would happen. "Perhaps" if K&N flows in a certain way that it somehow affects the oil pressure from allowing VTEC to engage at certain times during operation(perhaps initial startup and flooring it WOT for VTEC)???
crazy2.gif

kn oil coming off the filter used to mess up toyota trucks maf, I don't know if that is something the hondas experience when it starts sucking in more air. An innaccurate maf signal will cause everything down the line to have issues, and if you dont code it can be harder to track down.

Last edited:
yes it does happen, i'm a honda tech and have seen if before, not with a k&n in particular but what happens is some filters allow a drop in oil pressure, hondas vtec system is very sensitive to this and can cause driveblity issues by not allowing the vtec to engage fully.

Originally Posted By: mopar_monkey
yes it does happen, i'm a honda tech and have seen if before, not with a k&n in particular but what happens is some filters allow a drop in oil pressure, hondas vtec system is very sensitive to this and can cause driveblity issues by not allowing the vtec to engage fully.

I am curious as to which filters have enough dp to cause the vtec anomolies?

Originally Posted By: Radman

i have seen a fram and a stp cause these issues. that being said i don't think it is all filters made by those companys, most likely a fluke issue, but i could see k&n filters being more susceptible to this issue since they are a high flow filter.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Radman

i have seen a fram and a stp cause these issues.